Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university.

Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, most people argue that young students should take a gap year before starting higher education. I believe it could be extremely useful even though there are both advantages and disadvantages.

The greater danger for a young student planning to take a year off is that of loosing their interest in study. There are many reasons why it could happen: for instance, during a gap year young people usually start traveling or working and many of them after this period do not want to come back to university because they got used to this lifestyle. A further reason could be they realize what would suit them in life, and study an higher degree could not be the right choice to them.

On the other hand, young people who decides to experience a gap year could decide to stay where they lived for a year or study abroad. As a matter of fact, a student who travel before attending the university could use this experience to learn a language which could help in order to apply to a foreign university and this is absolutely a great advantage. Last but not least, traveling and making experience help students to open their mind, socialize with new cultures and meeting people from all over the world. Even if they decide to come back home they would have acquired a great deal of knowledge.

In short, taking a gap year could result in both disadvantages and advantages. It depends on what who is experiencing it is looking for: sometimes a year off helps to understand how is life when something take us out of our familiar surrounding and it could lead to many choices such as pursuing or not with higher education.