Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments

with examples and relevant evidence.

It is said that Television has a great power to influence people's mind. To some extent I do agree with this statement. The main con of television is that it has created the status system in our society. Today, companies are hiring celebrities for promoting their products. Advertising products in a glamorous way will create greed in the hearts of those people who can't afford that expensive product. For example: I have a friend who watches movies a lot. He was very much fascinated with the lifestyle which is now a days showing on television. He does not have enough money to live that lifestyle so he starts practicing illegal ways of achieving that lifestyle. He starts robbery.

Today, people are frustrated and depressed for not being able to spend luxurious life. Everyone is working hard to earn a lot of money for which they have to sacrifice their social and personal life.

On the other hand if we look at the positive aspect of this issue, we can observe that television is also a source of information. By watching informative channels, one can enhance his knowledge. One can improve his language by watching a particular language channel. For example: My friend has improved his listening skills of English by watching English movies and dramas. Moreover, I have a friend who is very much fond of taking dowry. He stated that he will marry a girl only who will give him a lot of dowry but by watching different shows which teaches him that taking dowry is one of the most horrible thing one can do, he starts neglecting the idea to take dowry.

All in all, everything has its own advantages and disadvantages. It totally depends on a person to what to learn from something. On the one hand, television is a source of knowledge for those people who want to learn something in their life and on the other hand television is the most horrible thing for those who want to remain uneducated for their entire life.