There are many types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important and should it be preserved or is international music that is heard everywhere nowadays more useful to a society?

Music is an art and like many other things, it has also advanced in the present century. It has different types. The classifications are not limited to one field anymore. Different regions in the world have their own specific kind of music. Then, at the same region the categories are different. Music ranges from fast to slow, from classical to pop. For a lay man music can just be a sound he finds entertaining to his ears but for the creators of music every beat, every rhythm carries a meaning of its own. Because each of these beats and rhythms can either join to make a pleasing melody or a rough irritating noise that makes your head ache.

Music is our need because of many reasons. First and foremost, is our soul. It is said that music brings peace to the soul. There have been some researches on music which have proved that listening to music at night helps you sleep better. The second being entertainment. Thirdly, music shows a nation's taste and its values.

Music is an art depicting many cultures and many religions. Traditional music of a country makes its culture rich. So yes, it is more important than international music. With the arrival of international music, the folk singers and musicians of a country suffer a heavy loss. We cannot deny the fact that international music is our need as well but it should not replace the native work.

Hence, music, like literature, is a part of country’s backbone and should be preserved and promoted as life without music will be dull and dry.