Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that over last few decades the power of advertising has been reinforced considerably. The aspect of people’s life where advertising does not play a part can hardly be found. However, it might be said that great amount of commercials influences the level of popular products’ sales so that it is high without any regard to requirements of the society they are sold in.

The first thing to consider is that modern technology gives advertising companies an opportunity to spread commercials everywhere. Now people receive advertising via mobile phone or browsing at the internet. In other words, an image of popular product with a catchy slogan is always in front of their eyes.

In addition, colourful leaflets or fascinating videos attract consumers influencing their brains dramatically. What is more, different marketing strategies make people subconsciously choose the advertised product among others. For instance, while looking for a chocolate bar at the supermarket, most of customers are more likely to buy one with a well-known name, because a pretty girl from the commercial eating it with an appetite is occurring to their heads.

Finally, all the present-days goods are designed in a way that everyone wants to have them despite the fact that they are completely useless. Lots of best-sellers may have no practical value or does not meet needs of consumers.

All things considered, it can be concluded that high rates of popular products’ sales illustrate the power of advertising and do not reflect requirements of the society they are sold in.