Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we live in the world, where power of advertising becomes stronger every year. It happens due to high level of competition, especially between known and popular manufacturers. I do agree, that the high sales of popular consumer goods are dependent in general on efficient advertisement of these brands.

Firstly, I am going to say about my point of view, that the popular consumer goods have a lot in common with unknown brands. One of the best examples is clothes which price is very expensive. I feel myself comfortable wearing a t-short for 5$ and t-short for 50$, but I prefer to buy the cheap one. However, most people prefer to buy expensive t-short because it was made by popular producer. In addition, such producers make their popularity and fame with a help of advertising.

Secondly, we can see a lot of different adverts if we look around ourselves. Moreover, sometimes I think, that the advertisement is already vital part of our life, because you can face adverts everywhere. Furthermore, good advertisement is made with a help of professional psychologists and marketers in order to take more out attention and improve our desire to buy their goods, even if it is unnecessary for us.

Thirdly, nowadays, we have some researches in which scientists have proved that the power of advertising is able to make better and higher amount of sales. However, we must not forget that the professional adverts cost very expensive. Consequently, such a fact influences on cost of advertised goods.

In conclusion, I would like to say, that the power of advertising is a great power, which is able to force us to buy certain goods. Unfortunately, sometimes we buy unnecessary but famous things. From my point of view it is not so bad, especially if it makes us happier.