When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To What extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's world, science has developed many luxuries and inventions replacing the ancient methods and modes of life. Some suggest that preserving and maintaining those traditional skills and patterns of living are of no use. While, others are of the opinion that those traditional skills and customs are even as important as it used to be and it is in my opinion true for below mentioned reasons.

Traditional methods and skills are more sustainable compared to new scientific inventions. In other words, we are dependent on fuel or electricity to run these new technologies. Unavailability of any of these components or failure of the technology halts the operation that we need to perform. In such situations, traditional skills and ways serve as backup to accomplish the goal. A very good example of this is type writer. If for instance, computer or printer do not works, type writer serves as backup. In short, ancient skills and customs still have a lot of significance in our lives.

Moreover, old skills and customs are suite taste of every individual. Lack of skills and expertise to operate new technologies makes traditional ways more efficient for some people. Cost and affordability also supports the need of traditional ways. Further, ill effects of modern advances versus less effects on health make traditional skills and customs more feasible. A good example of this is many people prefer having bicycle instead of having car to avoid its effects on health. Thus, old skills and customs need to be maintained.

In conclusion, science and technology has major role in making life easier but at the same time traditional skills and patters of life have their own significance for above mentioned and such other reasons.