Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the absence of a capital punitive measure, criminal acts of violence increases and lives are less secure. In essence, people argue that the death penalty is crucial to curb violent acts in the society. This essay agrees with this view.

The capital punishment is key to lowering the level of violence in the society because it will put fear in the minds of criminals. Peope who commit violents acts will think thoroughly whether or not to engage in such an act. Hence, the thoughts of a death penalty will discourage and deter them from criminal acts. According to a 2020 report from the Nigerian Criminal Justice System, the introduction of the death penalty by President Buhari, caused a significant decrease of about 90% in criminal acts in the country and as a result Nigeria is now a safe place for its citizens aswell as foreign investors and tourists.

In addition, capital punishment is important because it will make individuals realise violent acts have no benefits. Consequently the death penalty will make individuals who want to engage in criminal acts understand that the consequences are negative and severe which can ultimately result in death. Thus, with this mindset, less people will associate with violent behaviours. Consequent to this, the society will be safe and secure for all.

In conclusion, the death penalty is key to curbing violent crimes because it will put fear in the minds of violent individuals, which will act as a deterrent and it will make people know that the result of a violent crime is death.