Young drivers are careless and overconfident and too many people are killed in accidents. To eliminate this problem, we could teach children the skills of safe driving while they are at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are a large numbers of accidents to be caused by negligent drivers to be a hotly debated issue. There are those who argue that it is essential to teach children skills related driving cars in the street. To my mind, to exlcude accidents, there are different solutions to deal with this senario.

First of all, government should have severe punishments to penalise careless drivers. It is clearly that strict penalties are crucial in limitting the numbers of accidents in the street due to negligence as well as overconfidence. These punishments may be in the form of heavy fine, romoving driving license and even putting into prison for those who infringe the traffic law and cause for accidents. With the strong measures, young drivers become more aware of controlling their means of transport. For example, in recent researches, in Vietnam, thanks to application of the above strict punishments to drivers who break the traffic law, the numbers of accidents have been reduced significantly for the last five years.

Another appropriate solution is that law on traffic should be regarded as a necessary and practical subject in the school curriculum. If children are taught this subject, they will be more conscious of speed limit and more careful when they drive cars. Obviously, this is also considered as one of the best ways to make a huge contribution to prevention of accidents in the future because children are equipped with valuable knowledge relating to traffic law. More importantly, drivers also percieve deeply legal obligations which they must be responsible for miscoduct or violation.

It seems to me that apart from teaching skills for safe driving at school, it is also important to have strong measures to apply for wrongdoers. Teaching traffic law is as essential as teaching the skills and this should be a dispensible subject for school timetable.