Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

In this digital age, reading news on the Internet tends to become popular. However, many traditionalists argue that newspapers will continue as the major source of news. I personally disagree with this view.

The factors of the Internet which have led to the increasing popularity of online news are the speed and convenience. Firstly, the Internet is able to provide up-to-minute news or even in real time as it happens. In order to surf the websites and access news, all needs are simply having a portable device such as smart phone or laptop which connects almost constantly to the internet. Secondly, there is an increase in the quantity of access the Internet and this trend appears set to continue. The more widespread the accessibility of the Internet corresponding the more people rely on it as their news source. In addition, the free cost of reading could be a consideration for people choose to read online as a priority.

In contrast, the popularity of newspapers is possibly declined due to its drawbacks. The cost of a news source is one major disincentive. Competing with freely available news online, the falling circulation figures is a real problem which newspapers publishers cannot avoid. Some major American newspapers have attempted to introduce online versions alongside their printed editions so as to arrest this trend. An amount of newspapers consumed is probably another drawback due to the growing awareness of people about the environment. There is a body of public opinion which rejects buying newspapers since this involves cutting trees and transporting them to paper mills. The environmental argument will certainly gain ground if the consumption of newspapers may not be a major factor at present.

In conclusion, I believe that the importance of newspapers will continue to drop, more and more people will use the Internet to access news.