Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam

how true do you think this statement is?

what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Taking for granted that the high volume of traffic generates a desire for more space, which is greater than the available of streets capacity. This occurs since demanding on cars is, in the recent years, growing radically. In my opinion, I confirm the verity of this phenomenon due to some compelling reasons. Within this context, these compelling reasons and their feasible solutions will be tackled.

The population explosion is likely to be the main cause of the traffic congestion in the metropolitan areas. In other words, the population census is rising significantly because of the domestic migration from rural idyll to metropolitan areas. Accordingly, roads are overloaded with an enormous number of either cars or lorries, and these considerable number led to disrupting traffic severely. Moreover, the condition of the public transport, which is deteriorated, contributes to traffic congestion. For example, a substantial proportion of people prefers driving their cars to commute daily to work rather than using public transportation, for cars now are affordable. Hence, the problem stems from not only increasing in the population but also dropping in the car price.

However, urban sprawl to secluded places deems as a paramount importance to cope with traffic jam. By improving public transportation infrastructure in the low density residential are, a large portion of citizen will rely more on commuting by public transportation compared to driving cars. Consequently, the burden on city streets will be eased, so the traffic will be light. For instance, in Canada, a brilliant development plan, which is upgrading railway network and building more stations as well, has been implemented by the government in order to assist citizens to travel. The heavy traffic, therefore, will be reduced.

In conclusion, I agree that cars associate with traffic congestion which poses a credible threat. I also believe that improving public transport is a convenient way to encourage people to use them so this could decline in demand for owning cars.