Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Today, recruiting a qualified worker is one of the influential factors on firms’ successes. In order to choose appropriate person through job interviews, managers try to acquire candidates’ information not only about their educational qualification and vocational abilities but also about their personal life. It is believed this type of information is too much by many, although some believe it can be useful to recognize job seekers’ personalities. Both sides of this argument will be analyzed before a conclusion is reached.

In the one hand, being acquaintance to employees’ hobbies and interests provide some precious information to estimate a proper position for them. Take sport hobbies as an example. It is seemed that if an individual participates in team games rather than solo sports, they will be more likely to be a good team player. As this example shows, people’s habit in spending leisure time can mirror their behavior at workplaces. Thus it would be useful to ask about these types of preferences.

On the other hand, some personal information such as marriage status is too personal to ask question about and can be lead to prejudice. For instance, being divorced or single mom in some cultures doesn’t sound good and people prefer not to be asked about that. In order to respect personal private, it’s much better let these information keep private. However, being aware about such information doesn’t have any lucrative effects.

After analyzing both sides of this debate, it is believed that questions about hobbies in work interviews make sense but there would be no rights for interviewers to ask about interviewees' personal information.