Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The issue of investing in railways has become a source of contention. While there is no denying in its many ways that underground systems benefit the society, I only agree with this statement to some extent.

On one hand, I suppose that railways investment is appealing for several reasons. In various populated urban areas, such as the city of Singapore, attend to meticulous details of their railway systems. Many experts have praised these countries for their clever implementation, futuristic design and practicality, and I – myself – am one of those. Opting for the underground system can result in a lesser amount of traffic collision and a reduction in the carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere.

Nevertheless, I believe that this consideration does not apply to every country. An efficient railway system will require high-level engineers and cutting-edge technology. Developing countries may not meet these fundamental requirements as they lack the financial power to fund these projects. In this light, public roads will continue to serve as their indispensable public infrastructure, at least until these countries witness economic growths. For example, Ethiopia – one the poorest nations in the world – cannot benefit from rail transport; as this country is currently suffering from hunger, water scarcity, low birth rate, and high crime rate; hence, the government’s fund is better used for their human development.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that while I respect the public view on train transport, I can not help but think that this is a shortsighted view.