Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Fast and safe transportation system and improved communication are two important aspects of the development of a country. Every government wants its citizens to commute safely and faster while the trade and business also depend on a solid transportation system. Thus when the question arises whether a government should focus on improving its railways or roads, people seems like have divided opinions. I personally agree that a government should spend more money on railways system as it is better to develop the railway transpiration system than developing roads.

Fast of all railways offers safe commuting both for the citizens and traders. The numbers of road accidents and casualties road vehicles cause in many countries are far more than that of accidents in the railway system. Thus investing more on a safe way of commuting is a much more prudent idea. Rails cause comparatively less environmental damage while the road vehicles are the main reason for increasing pollution around the world.

Second, rails can carry hundreds of people and several tonnes of goods while road transports can carry only a few people or fewer amounts of products at a time. Some shuttle trains are many times faster than that of private cars and public buses. Thus improved railways would save peoples’ valuable time every day. Thirdly, rail lines are usually away from the main cities and that is why some busy cities have no other alternatives than to improve their rail transportation system. Express trains can reduce the congestions in many cities and more investment to improve the railways is the only possible solutions in cities where a large number of people live in.

Finally, the population of the world is increasing rapidly and that is why investing more money on faster and safer transportation system is more logical than investing in the older transportation system. Railways will be future in transportation and investing on it is the better choice for any government.

In conclusion, I believe that a government, either in a developed or a developing country, should invest to build a safer, faster and more reliable transportation system and railways thus should always get a priority over the roads.