It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some people argue that the important skill of differentiating right and wrong should be developed in early part of life. I agreed with the statement, and believe that some type of non-physical punishment like doing social work could, for the wrong doer, be more helpful to learn the distinction.

Children are in the process of learning from the birth. The knowledge about good, bad and right, wrong is a necessary part of development due to following reasons: firstly, people in the present world mask their reality, thus if a child has no understanding of the facts, he would be fooled. Secondly, it is easy for a kid to learn during childhood. Furthermore, these memories and experiences last throughout the life. Finally, early differentiation between good and bad deeds will affect one’s personality in a positive way, as he will try to avoid wrong things from the beginning.

Although, punishing a child is a controversial issue but sometimes it becomes necessary for kids. However, it is possible for us to make penalty enjoyable and rememberable. For instance, we can sentence a child to teach juniors for his wrong deed. Similarly, we can ask them to help aged citizen doing their chores as a punishment. Even though these types of penalties look odd but in the long run, it would prove beneficial for both the offender and the community.

In conclusion, children should be taught to differentiate between right and wrong in early childhood. However, non-physical punishment, for their wrong deeds, may prove beneficial not only for the kids but also for the society.