Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

Over the recent years, globalization has led to the free exchange of ideas and cultures. This inturn led to an extensive use of English as a lingua franca. In today's world learning this language is mandatory to succeed in life. At the same time local languages have to be preserved.

To begin with, the usage of as a bridge language is desirable as it enhances cross cultural communication. These days job opportunities are various for people who are proficient in this language, as this is the language of business. Most of the multinational companies open their branches across the world and mos...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.