Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. if these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

in your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

English has become a global language, which is essential to learn, whereas studying the local language is at the same importance. The significance of learning English will be discussed before suggesting some solutions to maintain local languages.

To begin with, there are two underlying benefits for people to study English. Firstly, owing to the era of integration, English is chosen to be dominant in most of the international conferences. As a result, not only is the language barrier broken by a good grasp at English but also the mutual misunderstanding by which reinforcing the harmony between nations. Secondly, the more proficient a job hunter is at English, the more likely he is to get a decent job with high salary because there are ever- increasing demand for the ability to use English professionally in the current job market.

As regards local languages, there should be more acts to ensure the survival of those languages to protect these unique identities. Specifically, an equal time contribution should be conducted for either learning English or the mother tongue, giving students a chance to take advantage of both languages effectively. Besides, were school not to hold as many as field trips or competitions with attractive rewards about the local language as possible, students would lose their enthusiasm because of monotonous classes. Therefore, would their own language die out sooner or later.

In conclusion, the benefits of learning English lying in global and individuals are obvious. Nevertheless, measures should be taken to preserve one nation’s mother tongue.