Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As society develops, digital technology has been developed significantly and which threatens the existence of public libraries. While I understand that the digital technology can contain massive information and it is more efficient for the storages of books, public libraries can be useful for stored of old documentations and it is especially useful for elders.

Digital technology has developed and people are heavily relied on seeking the information from the digital technology. Since the digital technology contains massive amount of information which any libraries cannot hold, the existence of public libraries becomes a wasteful. As a result of this, the more people are reading a book from the digital technology for its convenient reasons. Mostly books are heavy to hold and inconvenient to carry around whereas technology is hardly weighting and it is easily storable so the popularity of reading through digital technology is growing massively. Therefore, the existence and maintenance of public libraries become useless.

However, the public libraries have massive information that is old that may not be able to obtain anywhere else and it is already valuable to see those old documentation in person. For example, the national public libraries of Korea hold historical documentation such as the newspapers from 1930s or 1950s and those can be useful for researchers or students to study. From this example, we can conclude that by observing of old historical papers can be valuable. Also the public libraries have other functions than just stored of information. In particular, seniors have a difficulty to adapt those modern devices and they cannot search for information by use of those technologies. Thus, the maintenance of public libraries is somehow required for specific reasons.

In conclusion, it is true that the development of technology has threatened the existence of public libraries as most of information can be found through the modern devices. However, the reason for the existence of public libraries are not only stored of information but it provides the convenient for seniors whom have difficulty to adapt of modern technologies as well as inheritance documentation is worth saving.