Manager

Managerial positions in an organization require extremely analytical and intellectual personnel, and some people feel that the younger employees are more suited for the task than the ones older in age. Although this is true for a number of reasons, in this essay we shall also look at whether having mature managers can be beneficial.

It is observed that the younger employees are more techno-savvy than the older ones who may need to be trained every time a new equipment or program is installed in the office that is supposed to be used for work. Also, senior people are typecast and stuck in their own ways of working since they have been working since a long time and are seldom open to change. Nowadays, many organizations have modish office interiors with swanky desks and cubicles and interiors, for example, an advertising agency. While the younger employees would like this bright setting with graffitied walls and a pool table in the middle of the office floor, so to say, the older employees would probably frown on that.

That being said, it cannot be denied that what the older people lack in the latest trends, they make up in experience and knowledge. They have a better understanding of the situations in a workplace and are skilled to be able to predict certain outcomes when it comes to business operations. Also, young people are very enthusiastic and may take decisions in a rush, whereas an older manager would consider all sides of the case and then decide on the course of action. Many times, young managers are seen to follow the rule of ‘more the risk, more the profit’. On the other hand, the older managers might let a few profits go temporarily to secure a bigger long-term financial gain for the company for the future.

Weighing all the arguments, I can conclude that both, young or old managers are fit to be at the managerial positions in a company, depending upon the industry. Expertise, knowledge, and other non-cognitive skills should be considered for any employee to be appointed as the manager.