In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Residents have sparked off an argument over imprisonment, in which it is believed to be less efficient than education in tackling crimes. While I accept that an improvement in education is advantageous, I opine that a prison sentence also exert positive influences on wrongdoers.

On the one hand, a pedagogical approach plays a pivotal role in eradicating evils because of two major reasons. Firstly, only by education will moral and cultural values be instilled into learners’ mind. Therefore, this is expected to shape their patterns of behavior and create dignified citizens, who can embrace social fabrics, as well as fight against any criminal behavior. Secondly, education, which integrates regulations and legal terms into curricula, also helps social members entirely grasp the importance of obeying the law. Thus, it is safe to say that if people are sufficiently provided with such lessons, they are less likely to turn into crimes.

On the other hand, benefits brought about by imprisonment should not be overlooked. Indeed, serving a prison sentence, offenders will receive a harsh corporal punishment, and this may leave an indelible impression that crimes are treated by the full weight of the law. In other word, such rigorous experience is reckoned to make offenders see the error of their way, and deter them from perpetuating evils. For example, in a recent study conducted among British juvenile delinquents, 80% of total population reported that serving a custodial sentence necessitates them being law-abiding citizens due to a severe consequence they suffered in prisons. In contrast, if imprisonment is abolished, not only will this cause obstacle to maintaining the policy of zero tolerance, but also result in a lack of strategies for punishing wrongdoers.

In brief, while not disavowing the significance of education, it seems to me that imprisonment is also essential in assuring social tranquility.