In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Recent decades witnessed an upsurge in the number of people purchasing imported food, attracting a great deal of media attention. However, identifying the reasons would be the key to finding the solutions.

There are a multitude of reasons behind this pattern. First, Foreign products usually are of higher quality than those produced locally due to the discrepancies in manufacturing technologies and strict regulations. In fact, many vietnamese citizens are susceptible to food with carcinogenic coloring due to the government negligence of food safety and have to consume imported food with guaranteed quality instead. Second, many people are deemed to be prosperous and trendy when consuming products from other nations. It is implied that if individuals buy local items, they will be regarded as destitute and old-fashioned.

However this trend is not without solutions. First, the legislation of stricter manufacturing regulations would be enacted. This would lead to the reduction of local products without being thoroughly scrutinized, attracting more citizens to consume these items. Second, official authorities should increase higher tariff on imported products. This will lead to a causal relationship with a rise in costs of foreign items, discouraging local individuals from any activities of consumption and they will purchase local ones with reasonable prices.

In conclusion, the demand for imported food could be attributed to the low quality of local products and the false perception of foreign items’ value in consumers. However, It is the liability of citizens and governments to undertake the most practical and effective initiatives to tackle this issue.