Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that a variety of historical places are predominantly visited by people from parts of the world, rather than local inhabitants. There are many reasons for this, but this situation should be addressed by attracting locals in some practical ways.

There are several reasons why the museums and historical sites do not attract the local people's attention. Firstly, the objects which are displayed in the museums are too familiar with residents. As a result, they only stimulate interest in tourist, whereas they slightly affect local inhabitants. In stead of visiting historical sites, people usually choose to go other places such as entertainment center, resorts. Secondly, entrance tickets are too high and not suitable for people's income. For instance, the cost of tickets is usually from 3 dollars while the average revenue is only about 250 dollars. Therefore, it is rather hard for local people to visit museums because they must make ends meet.

The government should take some measures to tackle this issue effectively. On the one hand, the obvious solution is for the manager to refresh the exhibits. Therefore, inhabitants will pay more visit to museums. On the other hand, the government provides support of the museum such that historical relic is free for all the local people. By doing this, residents will pay more visit sites in order to broaden their knowledge about their hometowns.

In conclusion, there are some known reasons for this trend. However, something should be done by the authorities to attract more visitors from the local area.