Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some museums around the world charge entrance fees while other are free to visit. It has both the benefit and the drawbacks, however, advantages are greater than disadvantages.

Payment while entering a museum could be a financial burden on poor citizen. As in this modern, earning for livehood is a struggle for many individuals, so paying charges for visiting a museum look injustice with them. For instance, a man from lower class family would not be able to show his children the cultural heritage in the museums. Keeping in view these facts, some rules and regulation favouring these people is needed. One possible solution is the introduction of a filter that would differentiate among the different classes of individuals, and would grant free entry to poor people.

On the contrary, the beneficial effects of this act outweigh the negative impacts and are worth mentioning. Firstly, the income generated by charging visitors could be used for various purposes. For example, it can be donated as charity to needy people or organization; in addition, can be used for the maintenance of the museum. Secondly, it would prevent uninterested from entering just for time pass. Thirdly, it would reduce overcrowding, so would decrease the chances of accidents. Finally, as it is easy for a thief to steal an antique when the place is densely populated, so its chances would be dropped to a greater extent, keeping eyes on few people is much more easier than a huge crowd.

In conclusion, although entrance tickets to a museum is a burden on poor families. However, overall outcome of this implementation is fruitful for both the society and the museum.