Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There are many cases where the ex-convicts continue to commit crimes again after they have been released from prison. There are some main reasons behind this situation, by looking into them, we can find out a few measures which can be taken to solve this problem.

Firstly, in prison, many man with a criminal record is put together in the same building for a very long time, this system creates a favorable environment for degenerate minds to exchange ideas and information, inevitably causes them to behave even worse. Secondly, a past prisoner is the last type of people any companies would consider to hire. Thus, they, after serving in prison, often remain jobless for a long time and with the enforcement or enticement of their fellow offenders, would eventually relapse into criminal behaviors.

To help ex-prisoners reform and rejoin the community, prisons should focus on rehabilitation and community services as a means to change the criminals, not only by imprisonment itself. As they help the community, their heart will open up and they will think more about making society a better place. There should be campaigns to raise awareness about the fact that if we have kind thoughts and treat the ex-convicts right, they will not become re-offenders. Companies and organizations should allow ex-offenders to have jobs and prisons should have vocational programs to train the inmates to have practical skills such as graphic design, computer programing or accounting.

In conclusion, the current prison system should focus more on rehabilitation, raising community acceptance and educational programs for prisoners instead of punishing them. As we all open our hearts and accept ex-prisoners back into our society, we give them a chance to avoid recidivism and start to build a new happy healthy life around family and friends.