Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom. what are your opinions on this?

WHO (World Health Organisation) has recently presented statistics on the number of people who died due to both active and passive smoking in Europe; according to the data, this figure has significantly decreased comparing to the results conducted two decades ago. This dramatic change has been reached by such strict law as banning smoking in work and public places. Nevertheless, the rule has been protested in many European cities, mostly by smokers, as they believe the law infringes freedom.

Cigarette fume can be harmful to a smoker as well as to people nearby the smoker. Moreover, WHO asserts that passive smokers suffer more than their active counterparts. Smoking causes various diseases: cardiovascular, neurological and lung cancer. As a result, many non-smoker Europeans had involuntarily suffered from the diseases until the law took effect, which resulting in a plenty of companies losing income due to the fact that the employees actively took sick leaves. In addition, European countries could have put young generation into jeopardy since public places are usually occupied by children. I, for instance, used to avoid smokers while I had a walk in the community park at the center of Munich, which unfortunately was smokers' favorite spot, not to inhale fume; however, now I can take a walk without worrying fume.

The governments have not absolutely prohibited smoking in the cities; there are still smoking zones, where anyone can freely smoke, away from both work and public places. Thus, it is unfair to protest the law for restricting smokers' freedom.

Europe is one of the first countries initiated smoking-free areas. The initiation is essential and strategic, thus, it has to be carried out; otherwise, it is restricting freedom of non-smokers for a healthy life.