Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer.What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

In a poorly designed society system, gap between rich and poor people can be extremely wide, which arouses in severe problem to society. This essay will predict what problems could this phenomenon induce and suggest viable solutions to solve these problems.

To begin with, the most significant consequency that derives from wide income gap is that poor people will live a substandard life. For example, poor people may be homeless because they do not earn enough wage to pay for rent. In an even worse circumstance, people suffer from starvation because of poverty. Furthermore, these could lead to serious society problem that people may commit crime due to the basic need of food and shelter cannot be fulfilled. For instance, impoverished people may steal food if he is starving and nobody offers help. Therefore, the problems of enormous income gap must be resolved and measures must be taken.

Even though, wide income gap exists in particular countries, developed countries have measures to assure it not happening in society. One crucial machenism is to guarantee a minimal wage. A minimal wage provides a decent living of shelter and food. Take Australia for example, the minimal hourly payment is 18 dollars, which renders enough income for paying rent and purchasing food with a part-time job. Another approach to solve this problem is an egalitarian tax system. Again, take Australia for example, people with an annual income below 37000 dollars will deamed as low income person and exampt of pay tax. However, people earn an annual income of more than 88000 will be deemed as high income person and must be leviey 47% of his income as income tax.

To recapitulate, wide income gap would provoke immense problem to society. Measures must be taken to assure low income people have a decent living.