Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is remarkable that these days, more and more animal experimentation has been used in medical research and the safety tests for new products. While some people believe that animals testing is morally wrong and thus should be abolished, others say it is beneficial to humans.

On the one hand, there are strong arguments against animal testing. First, humans have no right to cause pain or trauma to animals. It could be extremely cruel to watch a rat hopelessly suffering the pain in the laboratory for the search of the new drug for humans. In other words, just because humans would not experiment on their peers will never able to justify the suffering caused on animals. Second, it would be utterly pointless to force animals to eat a product that humans are unsure about its quality. These people believe that there must be other alternative methods to test the safety of a product.

On the other hand, supporters of the use of animals in medical research believe that it is justifiable if a certain amount of pain on a particular animal would allow for the invention of medicines that save hundreds human lives. They also think that if people who against these tests are suffering serious health problems and in desperate need for the cure, they might have to ponder over having those tests on animals, which had resulted in the appropriate treatment for their illness.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is not necessary to have animals experiment for the release of certain products, yet it is morally accepted as long as animals are used for the research of vital medical treatment.