Nowadays many old cities are redesigned and rebuilt in order to look modern Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice

In the process of urbanization of city, old buildings usually demolished in order to build modern buildings in the site. In this essay, I will talk about the advantages and disadvantages of this practice and express my opinion on this.

The disadvantages of knock down old buildings and build up new buildings are the elimination of land mark and heritage. An old building is a landmark for a city. Because the old buildings has stood on the site for decades or even centuries. Another thing is, an old building is heritage for people. Important events happened in it, it stands in the memory of the one who have saw it. Thus a landmark and heritages disappear when an old building is knocked down.

The advantage of building a modern building in the site of old building is that it moves the city toward modernity. Living standard improve with time pass by. People nowadays need larger space, better lighting and better air conditioning. These all provided by modern building. Another advantage is modern building provide better resistance against earthquake. Modern building use better materials and advanced technology, which offer better protection in case of natural disaster.

In my opinion, rebuild and redesign old building has more advantages over disadvantages. First, old building will abandoned or demolished eventually. That means someday in the future, it will lost the function of providing shelter. Second, new building provide better solution to transportation. City need new buildings to upgrade its transportation system.

In summary, the advantages of rebuild old buildings in city outweigh its disadvantages. I strongly support build new buildings.