Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the

younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions

In recent years, an increasing number of people are concerned about the phenomenon that fierce competition in the job market between the old and the young has become an increasingly widespread problem. Although there will be some negative consequences of this trend, several measures can be taken to address this potential problems.

There are several issues caused by the increasing competition in the job market between the old and young workers. One of these is age discrimination; the older are often put at a distinct disadvantage compare to the young counterpart when seeking the same position with young candidates even if they have similar abilities and qualifications. As a result, a large number of old people will be unemployed; hence, they will not have enough money to cover their basis needs. The second problem is that the older people are under pressure when the young people seem to be more creative and adapt to changes at the workplace easier than. This may lead to any physical and mental problem among the old such as stress and depression.

There are some effective solutions to address the job competition. Firstly, what business should do is to have a fixed quota of jobs set aside for people under a certain age and over a certain age. As a result, there will be more opportunities for both the old and the young to find suitable jobs and earn a living. Another measure would be for individual to advance their abilities and skills. The older workers should be willing to enhance their skills through attending training courses in computer literacy and try to adapt to changes in the working environment.

In conclusion, a range of measures can be used to mitigate the problems that possibly arise as the job competition between older people and young people is increasing.