Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, whatever we say or do is observed through a cell phone tracker and CCTV cameras, although we usually remain unaware of these moves. It is also certainly true that this invention has some beneficial effects, however, in my opinion, the detrimental impacts are much more.

To begin with the advantages, it makes us feel more secure and protect our country from foreign invaders. For instance, recording conversation among terrorist organisation or tracing them by using mobile technology help us to defend ourselves and our state. Furthermore, this technology is used by security agencies to find out a kidnapped person or arrest a thief, whose picture is captured by the security cameras.

In contrast, because of this modern technology, our privacy has been totally lost. As, nowadays, anybody can access to our personal data by hacking into our computers, we are not safe from this harmful effects of the applications. In addition, it can be misused by many criminals, either to threaten or blackmailed common citizen. My friend, Bilal, for instance, was blackmailed by the hacker, after his family videos were hacked from his laptop. Finally, I would argue, no one his right to record someone’s call or videoed him/her without his/her knowledge. Therefore, there should be a control on the use of these applications, so that I would not harm any human being.

In conclusion, Monitoring individuals without their knowledge could be necessary for defensive purposes. However, this technology could be used wrongly by some criminals and could become offensive. As a result, it should be used fairly and with some restriction by specific departments not by everyone.