Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students or those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

There has been a significant increase in the university fees in the recent years, making it difficult for people of limited means to consider getting educated. This essay shall explain the fee rise in the universities along with offering solutions in the advantage of poorer students.

As the requirements of the world have become dynamic, so has the education industry in terms of curriculum and facilities. Renowned universities now provide far more diverse courses with many advanced facilities to aid students. This encourages student migration; therefore the universities have to add the tuition fees and accommodation charges in the fee structure. Naturally, the university fees will rise. With more and more students taking admissions every year, this hike in fees seems unlikely to go down.

However, this is not a very beneficial situation for the less privileged students. Most students who opt for university studies do so in hopes of getting good jobs, so as to be able to recover their study expenses. But high fees make it incredibly expensive and burdensome for these students to pursue higher education from the start. One solution can be of getting student loans, but in many cases it is observed that students’ parents simply don’t have the collateral to get loans.

Some alternatives in favour of reducing university fees for students can be to raise income from third party sources; this can be comparatively easy for top universities. Getting government funding is another option. Also, instead of a blanket reduction in fees, if possible, a nominal hike can be made in the general fee structure, excluding the poor students, for their better targeted support.

To conclude, I’d say the cost of a degree is an important determinant of the decision to apply to university. In order to grow their talent pools and attract the best talent, rich or poor, universities should provide a consideration for students that cannot take admissions due to financial constraints, but could’ve otherwise performed remarkably