Nowadays, young people admire media and sport stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

Nowadays, young people make a media and sport stars as their role model even though these stars are not good figures. I tend to think that teenagers should not do this.

Following not-so-good stars will affect their habits. They might think that every move from these figures are popular youth styles and whoever that does not follow it are old school people. They like to copy these star’s activities without being aware of its impacts. And they ignore their culture, sometimes. For example, Indonesian’s youth love to watch Korean and western movies and dramas. They have been daydream the scenes and try to do it. It is a good thing if the scene is an activity in their age but, mostly, it is not.

Teenagers in Indonesia think that kissing her or his pair is normal, due to the movies or dramas they watched. It is common in its origin countries but they live in Indonesia, an eastern culture country, in which kissing is activity for married couple. Another act they try to copy is about smokes, drugs, and alcohols. Having party with these things is the best party they have ever had. They know what will happen if they consume these things but they ignore it. The best, but also dangerous, party is better than common party with soda. This will absolutely ruin their health.

The last and very broad habit they try to imitate is about lifestyle. Those artists dressed up in luxury style with branded goods cover their body. Those young people who want to duplicate this style will do anything, even commit crimes, to get appearance like their idol.