In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views with regard to the necessity of constructing new fast railway lines to connect cities. In my view, it depends on the country’s circumstances and surroundings. While the new train might be certainly practical and beneficial for some countries, it would be more preferable for others to upgrade their current mass transportation.

On the one hand, building of new railway lines for very fast trains would definitely have a positive impact on several countries in various ways. Firstly, the fast train could enormously reduce the travel time of many citizens who need to shift between cities. Secondly, it is obvious that when a country has fast railroad networks, it will positively affect the logistics, tourism and business. For example, the selling price of many products would be cheaper since a single locomotive could carry tones of crops, goods or liquid items. Finally, the fast railway system may lead to the prosperity of provincial towns and local villages, with the easy access to metropolises.

On the other hand, some nations may not suitable to establish new railway lines. Alternatively, the betterment of current public transit system would be more attractive spending. In fact, some regions are not feasible for railways, as there might be swamps or rocky mountains. Furthermore, some countries may have enough mass transit system to meet the whole country’s demands. Therefore, renovating and repairing the present system would be a great help to inhabitants.

In conclusion, I agree with the idea of building new fast train system for some nations and I also believe that spending money on improving existing public transportation would be far more beneficial for other countries.