People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

The world has once again experienced the next wave of the crisis, which has started worldwide in 2008, in 2016 resulting in mass unemployment in developing countries. Interestingly, the statistics, provided by "Financial Times", indicates that there is a proportional link between the unemployment rate and university and college enrollment one. Thus, it comes that people mostly attend educational institutes for prospect career opportunities and immigration to such developed countries as Canada and the USA.

Initially in 2016, the global oil crisis hit the countries, which have oil production as an economic niche. As a result of the crisis, many people had to be dismissed since the economies of the countries have stagnated. On the other hand, another sector (education) of the countries has shown significant growth in the number of students enrolled to educational institutes. This figure indicates that many unemployed residents who lost jobs due to the crisis have an intention to obtain new qualifications in order to either establish own private business or be appointed to a new position. My aunt, for instance, used to work as a designer in Kazakhstan, left the job due to low income; nevertheless, she accomplished real estate agent's course due to the fact that price for real estate has substantially decreased in the country resulting in high liquidity of the market, which, in turn, allows the agents to earn well.

On top of this, similarly, the statistics shows that enrolment ratio in Canadian and US universities also has noticeably improved during the crisis owing to increased number of immigrants from the developing countries. In order to get a well-paid job in the developed countries candidates at least have to graduate from a bachelor degree. The immigration authorities evaluate immigrants by certain points, including an educational level obtained from the intended country to immigrate. For example, the more points, the more a candidate is considered to be suitable to issue the citizenship.

Over the last few years, people attend universities or colleges for either new job opportunities or immigration besides to career preparation. Thus, it is empirical that educational institutions accept as many students as their capacity allows in order to overcome the crisis.