“Prevention is better that curve.” Out of a country’s budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The number of people who are constantly under medical treatments and take sick leaves has reached the magnitude which has never been in human history over the last few decades despite significant achievements in medicine at the same period. According to WHO (World Health Organization), this phenomenon can be altered if preventative measures are taken sooner rather than seeing doctors when a disease has already stroke.

The statistics, gathered by many medical organizations in different parts of the world, show that there is more chance to cure patients if they regularly go under medical screening. The screening constitutes of blood test and visiting such physicians as therapist, cardiologist, dentist, etc., who are able to detect if a patient has a disease. Moreover, doctors assure that some incurable diseases, mostly variety types of cancer, can be successfully treated in early stages if patients are frequently conducted medical screening. A young boy from Kazakhstan, for instance, received a syringe instead of long excruciating treatments of a tropical virus which he might have caught on his summer holiday in Thailand since he had given his blood for test as this procedure is mandatory before a school year. Thus, it appears that government should allocate more money to preventative measures rather than coping with treating diseases.

There are, nevertheless, problems associated with preventative measures. The first issue refers to young citizens of a country as it is common that people aged between 20 and 40 less worry about health. Physicians acknowledge that the first symptoms of most diseases appear exactly in those ages owing to stressful lifestyle and deteriorated environment; however, young people either neglect them or fail to notice due to relatively stronger immune system. Therefore, when those people become senior the symptoms get severer and can even transform into chronic illnesses. Also, people usually fail to have time to see doctors due to the fact that they are too busy at workplace. For example, my uncle realizes he has to undergo medical screening once half a year, although, he frequently postpones screening at a local hospital owing to his intense work schedule and business trips.

It is better to prevent illness than treating it. Thus, government should increase its expenditure on preventative measures and health education in order to decrease morbidity; otherwise, there seems to be more ill individuals than healthy ones in the future.