As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support you

Researchers have shown that average life of the human being has been increased dramatically from last few years. This increase in life expectancy is obviously due to the modern equipment used in the medical industry. Of course, everyone wants to live longer to enjoy life and so, this advancement is considered as positive by most of the people on the earth. However, this drift has caused some adverse effects on the individuals as well as society.

Throughout the history, it has been seen that immortality has been considered as the blessing from the God. Everyone wants some more years with their loved ones. Due to this greed of longer life, most of the people on the earth consider advancement in the medical science positive. Apart from this, at the social level, people feel that more aged ones would benefit the organization or the government with their knowledge and experience. For example, senior employees would guide the juniors under them to work better.

Nevertheless, an increase in the aged population has adversely impacted the community as well as the individual. Firstly, owing to large aged population, the government has to do more expenditure on medical care and pension of the senior citizen. This will increase the burden on the young taxpayers and regime. Secondly, elder does not have the as much productivity as the younger have. To fill this gap in the productivity, youth will have to work hard for the development of the country. Lastly, an increase in the population also causes the detrimental effects on the environment as well. For instance, increased population can create issues like deforestation, drought and heavy rain.

To sum up, individually, a majority of people on the planet would consider modern technology in medical as a blessing for the human race as it gives more years to live. But at the same time, it has negative impacts on individual, society and environment as a whole.