In school and universities, girls tend to choose art while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

Many argue that arts are often chosen by girls and science is the options of boys in school and universities. In my opinion, I think there are several reasons behind this tendency and some of them need to be replaced.

There are a variety of reasons for what school boys and girls choose to learn arts or science subjects. The first reason they chose to study it because they have interests in it. For example, girls are likely to love things that are beautiful and romantic rather than boys are, so subjects related to arts might suit them well. Another reason for subject options at school may come from students’ parents who want their children to follow who they would like their children to become in the future. Many parents, for instance, tend to hope their boys pursue some jobs such as scientists rather than artists or musicians because they consider jobs related to arts are not stable and ideal for men to some extent. As a result, boys and girls just pick up their subjects according to their parents’ wishes without any intention or passion in them.

However, I suppose students have the right to choose which ability they are willing to develop at school and university by registering subjects that they know about their strength and interests so that they are more likely to become successful in the future. In contrast, if boys are forced to learn science that they consider a tedious subject, this would be counter-productive things and a waste of talents. In other words, deciding what to learn at school is students’ opportunities and parents and teachers are not allowed to make it compulsory in order to provide a better education system for students.

In conclusion, although girls often want to learn arts and boys will be able to like studying science more, both boys and girls should equally have the chance to take their options about subjects at school and universities.