In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

There is sufficient evidence to infer that in various educational levels, schoolgirls have a tendency to interest in art field while sciences gain popularity in another gender. This trend is resulted by several reasons and from my perspective, it is better if this tendency does not apply any change.

It is undeniable that there are certain reasons constitute this trend. The primary reason is due to gender-specific personalities and competence. To be more specific, while male students have considerable analytical abilities, followed by the fact that they are attracted by a number of science subjects, female students seem to expose their attention in imagination fields. Furthermore, it is obvious that this trend is associated with the traditional mindset about what field both genders should take a decision to pursue. For example, sometimes it is a real challenge for women who giving priority to difficult subjects such as math or physic because, in certain countries, conservative people do not agree with this idea.

On the other hand, whether the tendency should adjust is a controversial issue. In fact, what the society and the labour market need is not the adjustment, but people who can expose their incredible talent in the specific major. As a result, I am in the support of the opinion that this contemporary trend does not need any method to change because each person all over the world has a right to choose the environment where they can best cultivate their aptitudes. No sooner the students have their own freedom in making decision than they are motivated to make advantageous contributions to their major, regardless of gender.

In conclusion, there are a myriad of reasons why girls are more likely to keen on arts while boys concentrate on science subjects. However, it seems to me that young generations should have a reasonable option to follow.