Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recent decades have witnessed an increase in the number of vehicles with self-driving feature, raising many question of road safety. Given that this pattern could be attributed to many reasons, the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages.

There are a multitude of reasons why future cars will be driven by computers. First, there is no requirement for drivers’ licenses or challenging driving tests. In fact, Acquisition of driving knowledge and driving practices demand for a great deal of physical attempt, costing unnecessary time and money. Second, Sensory technology with analytical algorithm could potentially perceive the environment of roads better than human senses associated with poor visibility. This means that these advanced features would detect small and treacherous obstacles on roads very fast, lessening the possibilities of accidents.

However, this advancement in transportation methods is not without drawbacks. First, an autonomous car is invariably correlated with exorbitant price, going beyond the affordability of many individuals. For instance, a driverless vehicle will normally cost three times as much as a traditional one, which cannot be purchased by low-income citizens. In addition, even one minor error in the controlling system could culminate in more repercussions relating to physical injuries than human’s error. For example, Crashes in driving computer could be conducive to the likelihood of hitting other nearby vehicles, leading to many fatalities.

In conclusion, this commuting pattern could come from many factors in terms of no physical effort and advanced technology. However, besides high price, the downsides pertaining to this mode of transportation could lead to many undesirable consequences when it comes to computer failure.