Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibilities of governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

The wealth of developing countries really does not compare with developed countries, especially when compared with the UK or the US. To strengthen developing countries, food, education and good governance are needed.

Developed countries could help developing countries in many ways. They could send direct food and water to locations where inhabitants need them especially after crop loss due to the weather and severe flooding. Also, they could transfer advance technology and train local agri-people how to be productive and efficient in food production. In addition, rich governments could give funds to build schools, vocation schools, and institutes to help inhabitants of poor countries and access to new human knowledge. Moreover, rich countries could give scholarships to good students in poorer countries so that they can get higher education opportunities and then return to develop their home countries.

While receiving aid from foreign countries, governments from the third world can take primary responsibility for national development. Firstly, they should have a food emergency response plan to help their inhabitants in emergency cases. Besides, they should consider issuing some regulations to support their farmers in farming and trading. Secondly, governments have to encourage their citizens to go to school and become literate. In fact, literacy has an effect on society, both socially and economically, and the expansion of literacy will help reduce inequalities both within and across countries.

In conclusion, to help developing nations grow out of poverty, it is clear that the aid from developed nations and role of host government share ultimate responsibility.