In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age

Through out the world there are some regulations for age of working which decide the minimum and maximum age for workers and employees .Which differ from country to country. However recently some countries have started to follow new approach of raising the retirement age .This indeed has its benefits and drawbacks .

To start with the benefits .first the older peoples are more expert in work as they gained experience through their long working history. Which makes them wiser in the decisions concerning work and more successful in resolving their working issues. That qualify them to be successful mangers .Secondly employers can take advantage of putting burden of training fresh employees on those expert persons . By this way they would ensure better training for their new workers.

On the other hand there are some drawbacks for letting employees work beyond the pension age. As we know that elderlies are the most fragile part of the community and, most of them are liable for chronic diseases especially the ones which decrease concentration and mental ability which in turn decrease their working efficiency . Another obvious problem is that many kinds of work nowadays require using sophisticated equipment and up to date technologies ,which need to be continually updated .whereas large percentage of older people are technophobic, and have great difficulty in following the technology advances , which render them no longer suitable for these kinds of jobs .

To conclude it ,there is new trend in some countries especially the western ones to increase the pension age ,and this trend has its pros and cons. So careful assessment and practical researches should be done first before generalisation of the idea ,to gain better outcome.