Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent
do you agree or disagree?
Some hobbies are relatively easy, while others present more of a challenge. Personally, I
believe that both types of hobby can be fun, and I, therefore, disagree with the statement
that hobbies need to be difficult in order to be enjoyable.
On the one hand, many people enjoy easy hobbies. One example of an activity that is
easy for most people is swimming. This hobby requires very little equipment, it is simple
to learn, and it is inexpensive. I remember learning to swim at my local swimming pool
when I was a child, and it never felt like a demanding or challenging experience. Another
hobby that I find easy and fun is photography. In my opinion, anyone can take interesting
pictures without knowing too much about the technicalities of operating a camera.
Despite being straightforward, taking photos is a satisfying activity.
On the other hand, difficult hobbies can sometimes be more exciting. If an activity is
more challenging, we might feel a greater sense of satisfaction when we manage to do it
successfully. For example, film editing is a hobby that requires a high level of knowledge
and expertise. In my case, it took me around two years before I became competent at this
activity, but now I enjoy it much more than I did when I started. I believe that many
hobbies give us more pleasure when we reach a higher level of performance because the
results are better and the feeling of achievement is greater.
In conclusion, simple hobbies can be fun and relaxing, but difficult hobbies can be
equally pleasurable for different reasons.