Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has become increasingly popular in an era of international integration. Some people believe we learn other language just because of travelling or working outside the homeland, while others say these are not the only motivations. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument and give my opinion.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for everyone to possess another language based on financial or exploratory reasons. Firstly, people can get a higher standard of living when working overseas. For example, if a Vietnamese citizen is skilled at English, he or she can apply for a suitable job in the UK or US. And, of course, the facilities and exchange rates in these countries are by far better than dwelling in VietNam. Secondly, it would be easier for people to go on an excursion in other countries if they excel a lingo. In some cases, people might get lost or have trouble, and knowing the native tongue would help them to solve these unexpected situations.

On the other hand, it seems to me that at least two other benefits of learning a second language should be mentioned. Firstly, the cross of multi culture nowadays is getting more and more popular. Therefore, when interacting with a foreigner or go abroad, people can greatly understand their culture, the way of their livings and thoughts, which helps to broaden their knowledge. Furthermore, it is more convenient for people who acquire many languages to set up a business in an international environment. If the language barriers no longer exist, the trade agreements and opportunities will increase sooner or later.

To sum up, while mastering more than one language does have some gains for travelling or offering a good job, I believe that the advantages of having a command of other tongues are considerable.