Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is generally argued that whether graduate students requitedly study subjects which will be utilitarian for their future career such as those pertaining science and technology or they can choose to study whatever they like. I personally agree with the former due to some following arguments.

On the one hand, it is imperative and beneficial when studying practical subjects such as science and technology. One reason is that global economy requires high-tech in production in order to ensure products to be endurable and in high quality. Consequently, many manufacturing factories are now downsizing their staffs since their machines are operated automatically by few skilled engineers and staffs. As a result, they attach special importance to recruiting people with considerable amount of knowledge of running or repairing modern appliances. Therefore, university students, especially whose major is related to science and technology will be entitled to secure a job after graduation. Besides, these jobs are usually well paid, which thereby ensure a high living standard to them.

On the other hand, letting students freely choose their subjects at school is considered a wise choice. Firstly, since each individual is in possession of different talents, it is more beneficial for them to nurture their talents since they receive valuable support from school. For example, those with inborn competent in playing musical instruments will have a chance to practice and advance their skills thanks to the caring and supportive instructors at the school. Secondly, making every student study a same subjects unquestionably creates tedious atmosphere in school in particular and in the society in general.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it is more advantageous to let graduate students choose to study their favorite subjects in lieu of making them study only practical ones.