Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most governments have to build housing for their citizens. As populations grow more homes are needed, and sometimes the demand for accommodation increases rapidly. If people cannot find places to live0it is a huge worry for them. They do not care about the quality of their housing - they just need somewhere to live.

In the past, many buildings were carefully designed, and people could see that their external appearance was important. In my country, some of the most beautiful houses are old ones because they have an interesting shape and the architecture is impressive. Even though they were constructed a long time ago0they are still used and can still cost a lot of money to buy. For this reason, some people believe that homes today should also be well built, using good materials.

Although I agree with this0I also feel that poor people might not think it is fair. Some types of building material are much more expensive than others. Architects are also expensive if you use them. We have a lot of apartment blocks in the area where I live, and people want to live in them. They do not think about how much they cost to build. Unfortunately, these buildings may not last very long, and the occupants may have all sorts of problems with the building, which can mean that more homes have to be built.

In conclusion, I think that both views are relevant. While city accommodation must be well built so that it does not start to fall down too soon, it should also be affordable and available for people who need it.