Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that higher education should be paid totally by authorities, so all learners including poor people could have access to it freely. Personally, I am against this idea owing to its drawbacks that are discussed below.

It would be impossible to turn the opinion of free colleges into reality due to many reasons. The first one is that when governments lack money to update facilities at schools and conduct educational researches, the quality of education will be more likely to go down quickly. Therefore, it is necessary for authorities to charge tuition in order to maintain academic improvements. Another reason is that universities could not ask for qualified lectures because of low payments. If they are not able to earn sufficient money when doing their jobs, there would be fewer competent teachers choosing to work universities where people get educated. This might affect significantly to the future workforce in society.

At the same time, attending to tertiary education freely may prevent students from studying harder, as they do not need to worry about tuition that their parents often have to struggle to pay for. As a result, those gradually take that for granted and will not even bother learning diligently. Furthermore, individuals coming from impoverished backgrounds could get student loans and then pay them back later when starting working, which can allow them to have much motivation to try their best at schools rather than receiving free schooling. Finally, the government should not cost no fees for all students covering those who are from wealthy families since this fund would be better spend to support more underprivileged ones.

In conclusion, I disagree that going to universities needs to be completely free of charge because the value of education would suffer and it can bring about several negative impacts.