Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children.What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

In is a constant discussion about whether at least one parent of young children should scarify his or her job to take care of their kid, and in return, the government will then provide adequate support to that person. In this essay, I will provide discussions on both sides about this policy.

On the one hand, it is often argued that the mental status and the educational level of children is often influenced by the close relationship, especially parent. In other words, children development can be maximised, when kids have received enough love and care from their parents. In contrast, young teenagers who did not receive adequate attention from their parents can experience a lack of emotion or even worse, depression. For instance, my uncle and aunt went aboard occasionally due to their jobs and eventually, could not pay much attention to their child; then, later on, they have discovered that my cousin was suffering from depression.

On the other hand, asking a parent to stay at home can be a disadvantage for them from looking for a new job afterwards. To illustrate this point, staying at home for several years to look after their children can impact on their capability, skills and knowledge on their specific firm. Eventually, they may fall behind others when applying for a new position. Furthermore, the large expenditure of this policy will impact greatly on the government finance, and some believe that these funds could produce more benefits if using for other policies.

In conclusion, while there are various advantages to paying a parent who needs to stay at home to take care of their children, such as positive emotion of young children; this policy can also cause these parents to lose their chance of getting a good job.