Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are several roles for parents to play. Among those, two are considered as the main role for parents, which are the discipline and nurture. While parents discipline children to teach them about justice, ethics and moral, nurturing provide children a comfortable environment feeling safe. In this essay will discuss the both aspects of role of parents before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

Parents have many responsibilities to guide their children into a right path. Some are involving of educational roles whereas other roles may involve of caring roles. On top of this, the primary roles are the discipline and nurturing roles.

Parents must discipline their children. Otherwise children become uncontrollable. For example, since children are immature, most of their acts are derived from emotions. By doing that criminal, violent and emotional actions are inevitable. Therefore, it is important for parents to control those acts so that children can be a part of society as a society member. From discipline children, they would be able to learn about justice, morality and ethics to play in society.

However, it is also important to provide a secure environment to children by nurturing them. Since children are young and weak to be independent, the parental barrier is required. Under this boundary, children can feel comfortable and learn various skills such as hierarchy of society, the role as a family member as well as build up the personality before they face the reality. As a result of this, children can be a society member.

In my opinion, both aspects are equally important. While boundaries provide feeling of security and a great way to build a confident, discipline can teach children about the consequences of wrong doing, just like society. In reality, there are consequences to be dealt with when people did not follow the rules. A family can be seen as a small society where children can practice various skills before they become a society member.

In conclusion, parents have many roles to be responsible of. While they have to punish children for wrong doing, they have to provide a safe barrier at the same time. Both roles can be seen as the primary roles for parents, because those are required primarily for children in order to build up several skills to be a member of society.