Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.
In some modern education methodologies, it is fiercely supported that
children must be encouraged to be competitive individuals rather than cooperative
team players. But is this idea prudent enough to make us build our
education system on that basis?
Many people argue that to be successful in today’s highly competitive world,
individuals should have the skills which can grant competitive advantage to
differentiate themselves from the masses. Admittedly, this idea is mostly true
for the entrepreneurs who must have the determination and skills to pursue
and realise their dreams. Further, in sectors such as advertising and
marketing, the specialists generally need to put the welfare of their company
in front of the masses’ therefore choosing competitiveness and individualism
over the good of all.
On the other hand , co-operative people are required to make any organization to thrive.
Cross-analysing the ideas stated in the previous paragraph, it must be
remembered that only 10% - 20% of the entrepreneurs can pursue their ideas
to success and in many departments of organizations co-operation is paramount.
Also, if very dire situations, such as acts of war, are taken into consideration,
it can easily be understood that, only a handful of leaders are
needed, opposed to a great number of co-operative team-players.
In conclusion, even though our children should have enough sense of
competition to better themselves, they need to be encouraged more to cooperate
to be more beneficial to society and to achieve greater
accomplishments. After all, two hands can always make more noise than one
hand.