Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the cours

One frequent topic of discussion is the main function of universities. I would provide my own opinion on this issue through discussing whether the knowledge and skills provided by universities should be employment-oriented.

On the one hand, it is necessary to consider the needs of employers when universities decide what to teach, particularly when facing fierce competition in today’s labor market. Only by being equipped with skills and knowledge need in workplace can graduates meet job requirements, becoming capable competitors when seeking jobs after graduation, and therefore land a job more easily than those do not have required qualifications. For example, without learning clinical knowledge, nursing students could not be offered a job by any hospital. They might consequently find it hard to survive and thrive in the society.

On the other hand, merely teaching university students the things that are aimed at finding a job might limit students’ potential and development. As a key place of personal development, universities should not ignore its effect on shaping a person’s value sets and developing their interests. This requires providing a comprehensive curriculum system. For example, it is the wide range of selective coursed in universities that provide students opportunities to find where their genuine passion lies and what they are really good at. Had not they known themselves well, they would never end up with a dream job, and they might also lose the way to stretch their potential.

Above analysis suggests that although there are merits of providing university students with job-related knowledge and skills for the sake of students’ career, universities never should forget its function of developing students’ potential and interests. This is because good tertiary education does not only mean making graduates qualified for a job, but also need to give students the access to what they love to learn and what they can learn very well.