Some people think that the use of animal for experimentation is cruel. Other think it is good for the development of science. Discuss the two sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that doing experiments on animals are brutal, while others feel that it is favourable for the advancement of science. This essay will discuss both sides and reach a conclusion.

We must acknowledge that carrying out trials on animals are inhuman and barbaric. To illustrate, they are commonly subjected to force feeding, forced inhalation, food and water deprivation, prolonged periods of physical restrain and the infliction of pain to study its effects and remedies. Which is why, unnecessary complications such as vomiting, seizures, internal bleeding and organ damage animals are found, and eventually are killed afterwards.

However, animals testing has contributed to many life-saving cures and treatments. Take hepatitis B disease for an instance, which is a chronic liver disease, can lead to cirrhosis of liver and even liver cancer. What's more, it kills 15,000 Americans annually, according to M.D. Anderson Cancer Center's animal research facility. Vaccine of this type of disease was discovered by conducting experiments on Chimpanzees, therefore most patients suffering from it are cured successfully and has prevented them from premature deaths. Moreover, the polio vaccine, tested on animals, reduced the global occurrence of the disease from 350,000 cases in 1988 to 223 cases in 2012.

To conclude, although it is a common belief of many people that doing research on creatures is unnatural, I personally believe it is extremely worthwhile due to great benefits such as discoveries of absolutely vital medicines so researchers like scientists should continue performing studies on them.